Open Letter To A Father, From His Son


Dear Dad,

Amidst celebrating Mother’s Day, days for women, and loving and showing our love to mothers and sisters, I’ve always side tracked your value in my life. I might not be very outspoken about it, like my sister is (because she is always telling how she’s her Papa’s Princess), but Dad, you have always played a role of a parallel lead in my life.

Between you and mom, she showered us with more affection outwardly. Your affection might not have been direct or too obvious but it was there and we could feel it.

You are the first superhero I had. You always will be my superhero, who takes on the world before I could. At times, you might be hard on me but inside I know its all love, worry and care.

You might not know about the fact, that I know that every night when I pretended to sleep you came in my room and caressed my hair before going to sleep yourself. How could you do that? Hide your real feelings so efficiently when it actually hurt you when you slapped me for my mistakes? How did you hide the fact that my pain, pained you?

I remember those light moments of laughter of the jokes we cracked against Mom and Sis; of those high fives that we gave each other after the football match was won.

Moreover thank you for treating me and my sister the same, while the world complained of being partial to one. I can’t have the complain of being loved lesser than her, nor can I brag about being more loved.

I might now show,
For I don’t know,
But my love for you,
About, I wish you knew.

Superhero, I love you. This might be the only time I’ll tell this to you, but I always have and I always will.

Yours,
Son.



| Open Letter To A Father, From A Son | ✒

One thought on “Open Letter To A Father, From His Son

  1. Ahh.. It made me so emotional. My dad also doesn’t show that affection openly. But I will never forget the tight hug he gave me after my class 10 results were out. That day I really realised how much he loves me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

